top of page

Getting Ready for my Great Escape

Hello. This is where my adventure begins. So sit back, relax and enjoy. You see, in my last post I explained that, I would be going on the global scavenger hunt, around this time. Well, here I am sitting on a cramped bus with zero to no leg room, with a man yelling Spanish behind me, and my mom fixated on her phone next to me. I'm on a bus headed from my home town of Corpus Christi, Texas to one of the largest cities in Texas, Houston. Tomorrow I have a flight to my first destination, Mexico City, Mexico. But despite the current uncomfortable situation I am fixated in, I'm hopeful. Because the greatest adventure of my life up to this point is about to take place.

For weeks I have been preparing for this trip. From workouts to packing to having overwhelming amounts of homework, I've had nothing but this trip on my mind for a very long time. I guess the preparations started around the time that I found out I was going on the trip in November. Even then shopping for clothes, mental preparation, and workouts began to commence. I had one large Good Will haul that I got the majority of my clothes from. Lots of quick-dry.. So much quick-dry... It's ridiculous. But I digress. The past two weeks for me have been nothing but preparing to miss three whole weeks of school. My teachers were very helpful though.

I'm pretty nervous for this trip. It's going to be quite labor intensive. But I've adopted a saying for this trip and for the rest of my life. Adventure Bound. Now I have no idea what you believe. But assuming fate or destiny is real, I think my fate would be to travel, learn, and absorb the wonderful world in which we dwell. But let's say it's not my fate to see all that this beautiful creation has to offer, then I respond, "I defy you stars." Now assuming that fate and destiny is a load of crap, my saying still applies to me. Adventure Bound. I get to choose where to lead my life, and an unadventurous life (to me) is much like the unexamined life, not worth living.

Always continue to have adventures. I want to use my time on this trip to learn, love, examine, and accept. Im excited for all the adventures ahead. Now and forever. I will be writing everyday and posting as often as possible. Thank you to my Aunti Zoe for this opportunity and to my mom for coming with me. I'll write again soon.

-Gigi


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Artist Abroad

bottom of page